Good (time-appropriate greeting) everyone! So, I have a question: are you as sick of reading these damn Sao Paulo previews as I am of writing them? Let’s just say, for the sake of this article, that you aren’t. Is that OK? Will that work for you? From my end, well…my Sao Paulo Bureau Chief is on the lam, he’s in the wind, and – worst of all – he doesn’t even exist. So you’ll have to settle for my last-minute cobbled-together preview instead. Here are today’s Bradesco Prime Cup Sao Paulo Challenger quarterfinal match-ups:

[7] Federico Delbonis vs. [3] Joao Souza – The two have met once previously, with Delbo winning 7-6(8) 6-2 on clay at the Braunschweig Challenger in June of 2009. In other news, I love prepositional phrase strings! And brown is my favourite-coloured schweig. Just in case you planned on rewarding my reluctant, previewing diligence with the gift of schweig.

J-Wow is the higher seed and the higher ranked (#111 to #160) and the 22 year-old Brazilian will also have the home crowd in his favour. Therefore I pick Delbonis to win in two tough sets.

[1] Ricardo Mello vs. Juan-Pablo Brzezicki – Wow. This match is really the immoveable object meets the irresistible force. Allow me to explain: Brzezicki, the 28 year-old Argentine, has a 3-1 head-to-head edge over the top seed (although they haven’t met since 2008, but Juan-Pablo’s won the last three in any case); but the 30 year-old Brazilian has never lost at this event – hell, he just lost his first set yesterday to Tsung-Hua Yang and he’s looked good in the two matches I’ve seen him play here. I think Mello gets off the snide here and advances to the semis in straights.

Thomas Fabbiano vs. [Q] Rafael Camilo – There are no seeds remaining in the bottom half of the draw, so one of these draw-bottomed gentlemen has a huge oppotrunity to pick up some points and cash at this $100,000 event. This is the first meeting between Fabbiano, the 21 year-old Italian who handed Fernando Romboli his third loss in 23 matches yesterday, and Camilo, the hard-hitting 20-year-old Brazilian who upset Horacio Zeballos in the previous round. Almost impossible to pick this one, so I’ll say Fabbiano maintains his fabbulosity and wins it. But only because I like saying “fabbulosity” way too much.

Still Fabbulous

Uladzimir Ignatik vs. Adrian Menendez-Maceiras – Another first meeting, this one between the 20-year-old #223-in-the-world Belarussian – and former #1 junior in the world in 2007, mind you – Ignatik and the surprise 25-year-old Spanish quarterfinalist #283 Adrian Menendez-Maceiras, who destroyed the heretofore hot-streaking Andres Molteni in the previous round. I didn’t expect that win over Molteni would happen at all. And I don’t expect him to beat Ignatik either. Make of that what you will.

Woo hoo!  Preview done.  If you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it, well… then I pity you.

