It’s a big week, and a big list, so let’s cut right to it:

Player NATIONALITY Age New High
Federico Delbonis ARG 23 56
Edouard Roger-Vasselin FRA 29 64
Jack Sock USA 21 78
Julian Reister GER 27 88
Tim Smyczek USA 25 91
Dominic Thiem AUT 20 146
Facundo Bagnis ARG 23 148
Facundo Arguello ARG 21 152
Marco Cecchinato ITA 21 161
Radu Albot MDA 23 174
Nick Kyrgios AUS 18 177
Norbert Gombos SVK 23 195
Blaz Rola SLO 23 201
Marton Fucsovics HUN 21 230
Enrique Lopez-Perez ESP 22 236
Lorenzo Giustino ITA 22 250
Daniel Cox GBR 23 254
Valery Rudnev RUS 25 257
Hiroki Kondo JPN 30 276
Chase Buchanan USA 22 282
Kimmer Coppejans BEL 19 286
Thiago Monteiro BRA 19 287
Mikhail Biryukov RUS 21 292
Bjorn Fratangelo USA 20 293

Normally the list only (arbitrarily) charts career high rankings from #60 to #300ish, but I’m including Federico Delbonis for sentimental reasons. And because he’s the highest-ranked player who follows me on Twitter.  So IF YOU WANT TO GET ON THIS LIST, TOP 60, YOU HAVE TO FOLLOW ME!

Because You Gotta Have Fede

Because You Gotta Have Fede

I also listed Delbo because he’s Argentinian, just like 33% of rest of this List’s Top 10.  As with every week, the Argies keep on comin’; since I started the List again about a month ago, there’s not been a single week that it hasn’t included at least one Argentine, and usually it’s many more than that.  In fact, I doubt there will be a week in the next few months in which the Argies won’t barge into the List.

Since I didn’t highlight him last week, I want to highlight Tim Smyczek this week, as breaking into the Top 100 was a big goal of his.  Last week he entered the Top 100 right at 100, but this past week’s Sacramento Challenger finalist showing (l. to Donald Young) pushes him well into the Top 100 at #91.

Speaking of The Donald (as I was above in parentheses), I paid everyone a disservice on Twitter when I broadcast my calculation that he’d be returning to the Top 100 at ~#98 as a result of his Sacramento title.  I still don’t know exactly how I missed it (it seems 10 points came off his ranking, but I didn’t see that as of last night), but Donald tragically languishes around #103 this week — not 98.

While it’s still far from Young’s career high, he’s been on quite the buttery roll lately; he’s now won ten consecutive matches for the first time in his pro career.

A Young Champion

Further down the charts we find Mr. Only Teen In The Top 200, the spectacular 18-year-old Nick Kyrgios, who continues his skyrocketing rise into that Top 200, up 14 spots to #177 in this week’s rankings as a result of his semifinal showing (l. to Smyczek) in Sacto.  The gifted Australian has all the shots — the standard huge serve and forehand that are common to the top of the men’s game, but a very interesting weapon in his flat two-handed backhand (which I call his “flathand” since I’m generally a doofus).  His upcoming match vs. fifth-seeded Rhyne Williams in the Tiburon Challenger’s first round is one to circle, underline and highlight on your tennis-viewing planner.

Kyrgios Lays It Down

Kyrgios Lays It Down

At #254, the just-turned-23-year-old Brit Daniel Cox merits a mention, if only because he was one of my 2011 Players To Watch class.  A few notches down, we see 19-year-olds Kimmer Coppejans and Thiago Monteiro continuing to chart new highs in their pursuit to join Mr. Only Teen In The Top 200, Nick Kyrgios, in that Top 200.  I wrote an article about who was most and least likely to do so, but left off Monteiro because I’m lazy.  Regrets, I have a few.

Maybe I’ll go back and retroactively add him to the article now.  Nah, there’s something on TV right now that looks kinda interesting… *wanders off*

